Dongzhulin Monastery is located in
Shusong Village, Benzilan District, Deqin County, and
105km from the seat of Zhongdian County. The Yunnan-Tibet
Road passes behind the temple and the cars can get straight
to the temple. The Dongzhulin Monastery was built in
1667 in the sixth year of the Emperor Kang Xi Period.
Its original name was "Chong Chong Cuo Gang temple",
meaning "the temple by the crane lake".
It was renamed "Gedan Dongzhulin Temple" after
a combination of seven small temples, meaning "benefit
others and oneself". It is also one of the "thirteen
most well-known monasteries", and can hold 2,000
monks sitting and chanting scriptures. The present temple
was rebuilt in 1985 when the prefecture and the county
offered money. The main building is a four storied structure.
In the first floor is the place where the Lamas chant
scriptures. In the front stand the statues of the Three
Saints. On the second floor stands a statue of Qiangba
Buddha, 6¡¤8 meters in height. The statue
of Sakyamuni in the Sakyamuni Hall is 10¡¤5
meters tall, whose Buddhist crown and the pearls and
gems inlaid on the front are gifts from the Sela Temple
in Lhasa . This temple has a precious painted scroll,
which is 8¡¤5meters in length and 5¡¤2
meters in width, is a Gaurdian God woven with colorful
silk threads. It will be worshiped only once every year
when the grand ceremony is held. Now there are many
figures of Buddha and treasures for tourists to appreciate.
Every year a grand Buddhist celebration ceremony is
held in the monastery and it has became a Buddhist Holy
Land where people go on a pilgrimage.
Haba Snow Mountain
Meili Snow Mountain